Our Staff

We are blessed to have a loving and faithful leadership team. Scroll down to learn more about each. Contact information has been shared if you need to reach out.

Pastors, Ministers & Directors

Chad

Dr. Chad Rickenbaker

Senior Pastor
crickenbaker@bereafbc.org

Chad joined the staff of BFBC in Summer 2013. He received a Master of Divinity and Doctor of Ministry from Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary. He has served in pastorates in North and South Carolina. He and his family are originally from the lower part of South Carolina but have served in the Upstate of South Carolina since 2001. Our pastor has a heart for reaching the community, discipling believers, and preaching expository messages from God’s Word. Join us for a worship service this week to hear our pastor’s heart for teaching God’s Word.


Ford

Ford Pfister

Minister of Students
fpfister@bereafbc.org

Ford and his wife, Rebecca, joined our staff in October 2020. Prior to serving at BFBC, Ford served on staff at Samaritan’s Purse in Boone, NC helping to develop and launch the Apprentice Program. He is a graduate of North Greenville University with a degree in Christian Studies, and is currently studying at Southern Seminary online pursuing a Masters in Divinity with a concentration in apologetics and philosophy. Ford oversees the ministry for 6th graders through college.


Julie

Julie Lunsford

Director of Children’s and Education Ministries
jlunsford@bereafbc.org

Julie Hughes Lunsford is a native of Greenville and grew up in the Berea community. She is a graduate of Berea High School, North Greenville Junior College, and Carson Newman College. She first worked in accounting with JP Stevens before becoming the Director of Children’s and Educational Ministries at Berea First Baptist in 1993. The children of BFBC have long been Julie’s passion and priority. Her love and devotion to all children prove her belief in the importance of training up children in the ways of Jesus, and spill over into all areas and programs of church life. Julie and her late husband David have two daughters and three grandchildren who are all actively involved at Berea First Baptist.


Ryan

Ryan Pate

Discipleship & Missions Pastor
rpate@bereafbc.org

Ryan and his wife, SarahVi, are Florida natives. He has a Bachelor of Arts in Social Sciences from the University of West Florida and a Master of Arts in Christian Education from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. He was licensed to the ministry in 1998 and ordained in 2001. Ryan and SarahVi have two children, Bethany Rose and Isaac Daniel. Ryan is an active soul winner and loves serving the local community. He also enjoys playing golf, reading, hunting and fishing.


Zach

Dr. Zach Jones

Worship Pastor
zjones@bereafbc.org

Zach and his wife Terra have been married for 18 years. They have three teenage sons. Zach holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Church Music, a Master of Divinity in Christian Ministry, and a Ph.D. in Theology and Worship. He has 20-plus years leading worship in a variety of settings. In addition to serving as the Worship Pastor for Berea First Baptist Church he also teaches classes on worship as an adjunct for Liberty University’s School of Music.

Office Staff

Tracy

Tracy Emory

Ministry Assistant
temory@bereafbc.org

Robbie

Robbie Cassell

Receptionist
rcassell@bereafbc.org

Dennis

Dennis Paxton

Church Administrator
dpaxton@bereafbc.org

Melinda

Melinda Gassaway

Financial Secretary
mgassaway@bereafbc.org

Mike Parker

Mike Parker

Information Technology
mparker@bereafbc.org

Rachel Headshot

Rachel McDonald

Music Ministry Assistant
rachel@bereafbc.org